Military Hierarchy of the Eored
As a Rider of the Riddermark that is serving land, lord and people it is most important that you know your place as a horse-lord.
Try hard and internalize the military hierarchy of Rohan if you aspire to become a true warrior of the Mark.

Rohan is divided into three areas, or wards, for the purposes of military organization. These are Edoras, East-mark and West-mark. Their boundary is the Snowbourn River to its junction with Entwash, and from there north along the Entwash. The Muster of Edoras is commanded by the First Marshal of Mark, and it includes Riders drawn from the capital Edoras and adjacent King's Lands (including Harrowdale) and from some parts of the West-mark and East-mark. The Second and Third Marshals were assigned commands according to the needs of the time. The ward of the Second Marshal covers areas west of Entwash, including Westfold, Westemnet, Helm's Deep and the Gap of Rohan. The ward of the Third Marshal covers areas east of Entwash, including Eastemnet, Eastfold and the Wold. Each Marshal has at all times one eored stationed at his base of operations to be used as the Marshal sees fit.

Currently the acting First Marshal is Elfhelm, governing the Riders and other armed men of the garrison of Edoras. Second Marshal, the King's son Theodred, has command over the West-mark with his base at Helm's Deep; and the Third Marshal, the King's nephew Eomer, has as his ward the East-mark with his base at his home Aldburg in the Folde. In the Full Muster the First Marshal commands the leading eored, the King's Company, while the Second and Third Marshals lead the first eoreds of their respective Musters.

Serving under the Marshals are 7 Feldmarshals who act as their advisors and field commanders of whole eoreds in active service during times of peace. Usually there are two Feldmarshals in East-mark, two in Edoras and three in West-mark. In wartime the Feldmarshals have such roles that the Marshals decree, but usually they each lead their own companies of several eoreds.

have their own commanding officers, captains (Aethelwigend = 'noble warrior'). The total number of captains is approximately 100 in the Full Muster of the Riders, there being perhaps 10-20 captains in active service during times of peace. However, during peacetime captains rarely command full eoreds, but rather patrols that are detached all over the Mark, watching the borders. Many noble lords usually serve for a time as captains in the King's Host, and thus in times of war lead an eored of Riders drawn from their own household and adjacent areas.

Each eored is typically divided into six or more smaller units called patrols, commanded by a patrol leader (Maegisterwigend = 'master warrior'). The composition of individual eoreds differs between regions, but usually each eored is a self-sustained unit with its own scouts and supporting personnel such as messengers and healers. If the situation demands it, patrols and eoreds can be combined or split into such groups of Riders that are required for the task at hand. Normally each patrol consists of 20 Riders (Sperewigends = 'spear warrior'), including the patrol leader.

In the West-mark it is more common for different patrols within an eored to specialize for a certain role, such as heavy shock troops armed with long spears or fire-support using bows as their main weapon. In the East-mark such distinctions are usually not made, making the patrols more versatile in different situations than their West-mark counterparts.
This site is powered by e107, which is released under the terms of the GNU GPL License.